After a 35+ year hiatus from music, Rob Moss recorded an album of 14 proto-punk-inspired rock ‘n’ roll songs, featuring 14 different lead guitarists, including:

Bob ‘Derwood’ Andrews – Generation X
Nels Cline – Wilco, Nels Cline 4
Don Fleming – Velvet Monkeys, Gumball, Dinosaur Jr
Franz Stahl – Scream, Wool, Foo Fighters
Billy Loosigian – Willie Alexander and the Boom Boom Band
Mario Monterosso – Tav Falco’s Panther Burns
Marshall Keith – The Slickee Boys
Brian Gay – Government Issue
Stuart Casson – Smash Fashion, Dove, The Meatmen
Saul Koll – The Lovesores

In addition to top lead guitar talent, Spit Stix (Fear) drums on two songs and Francesco D’Agnolo (also of Tav Falco’s Panther Burns) plays piano on another.

If Rob’s name is familiar it’s because he was a member of Government Issue and Artificial Peace — two iconic Washington, D.C. hardcore bands.
Looking to get back into the rock ‘n’ roll game, Rob called up old friends and friends of friends to record an album of new material. While a bass player in his past, Rob now plays rhythm guitar and sings lead vocals. From the opening proceedings of ‘Babble Tower’ to the curtain call of ‘Rock n Roll Is Dead’ Rob turns in an impressive array of songs from the confident punch of the opener, Rob calls upon his friends from back in the day to lend a hand and help out a Rock and Roll brutha and the array of talent does just that.
The list of guitarists lending a hand is impressive which also adds some colour to the palet of Robs straight up Dead Boys meets Social Distortion old school punk n roll. Chris Rudolph lets off some steam on ‘Babble Tower’ and straight into ‘Ugly Chair’ that has Rob drawling on a Lou Reed vibe with Saul Koll bending the six strings like a good un.
We take a slight detour on track four and wander through the Coops garden picking up a lick here and a shuffle there sounding like prime time Alice Cooper band is never a bad place to find oneself. Stuart Casson is the player who lends some Roll to the Rock that’s being cooked up. ‘No 48 Crash’ is solid 70s glam as a tip of the hat is made to the lady in leather who no doubt inspired the groove.
If you want another change of gear ‘Oxygenate’ has some classic rock swirling organ for good measure.  I must admit I always love me some sleazy rawk n roll with a snotty dash of punk rock swagger and ‘Real Fine Kitty’ might be generic but I love it and its strut all that’s missing is the horn section tooting surely Rob had a Memphis horn section in his little black book?
Brian Gay turns up for a little tip of the Johnny Thunders handclappin’ rock and roll on ‘A Maltese Falcon’ and when a record has too much Johnny Thunders licks on it I’m tapping out as well.
The track I anticipated the most was the final knocking with Former Gen X band member Bob ‘Derwood’ Andrews who to be fair plays the song and doesn’t use it to jerk out a bazillion notes where they’re not needed and besides he has the cowbell going on as well and when has a record ever had too much cowbell? Exactly.  Andrews is a fine addition but cmon guys ‘Rock and Roll Is Dead’?  Never, not on my watch and not on the watch of Rob Moss & Skin Tight Skin either.  If you still believe in punk rock and roll with swagger and plenty of ’70s inspired glam rock then what are you waiting for hit the link and pick it up.
Pick up the album Here

BOX Sets

Buy an Oil City  Confidential Tin and a Classic  Dr Feelgood collectors Vinyl  and get a Double Wilko Best of CD FREE

Oil City Confidential

10th Anniversary Box Set in a Limited Edition Tin
get this with a Dr Feelgood Limited edition Vinyl  plus Free Best of Wilko Johnson Double CD  for £30 Here
Buy vinyl & tin DVD Here

Julien Temple’s acclaimed, award-winning documentary Oil City Confidential is available once more as a Tenth Anniversary special edition in exclusive limited Oil City tin with bonus DVD of Wilko Johnson – ‘Live At Koko, Camden Town, London, March 2013’.

This special edition deluxe tin includes:-

  1. Oil City Confidential Film DVD with new artwork
  2. Bonus DVD of Wilko Johnson Live at Koko 2013
  3. 24-page booklet featuring BBCs Mark Radcliffe essay reminisces of Dr. Feelgood (“The Day I Met The Band That Changed My Life”)
  4. Ultra rare photos
  5. Postcard of Canvey-centric map of the world created by Lee Brilleaux and Phil Ashcroft

This is the story of Dr Feelgood, four men in cheap suits who crashed out of Canvey Island in the early ’70s, sandpapered the face of rock’n’roll, leaving all that came before a burnt-out ruin – four estuarine John-the-Baptists to Johnny Rotten’s anti-Christ. Taking London by storm, they sped through Europe and conquered the UK with No 1 chart success, before imploding just as punk was born and America beckoned with open arms. Contributions from members of The Clash, Blondie and The Sex Pistols join Dr Feelgood with collaborators Jools Holland and Alison Moyet to tell the story of Canvey, ’70s England and the greatest local band in the world.

Winner of the Mojo Vision Award 2010, Best Documentary at the Kermode Awards 2011 and Best International Film 2009 (Cult Award, Turin Film Festival).

‘A rip-roaring account of one of the best bands Britain ever produced by a film-maker who looks increasingly like our very finest rockumentarian’ – Mark Kermode, The Observer.
‘Nothing less than a master-class in musical hagiography, beautifully photographed, superbly edited and utterly involving’ – ***** Time Out.
‘I don’t think Julien Temple has ever made a film as good, and as purely insightful as this’ – ***** The Guardian.


(There is an option to buy a Tshirt for £5 (normally £15). These are for a limited time only and while stocks last…….if you are buying a Tshirt, please state which size you would like when ordering: Small, Medium, Large or XL (all these sizes are limited quantity/while stocks last…………..)

Order the Tin Here