The Electric Boys are one of those bands who seem to have always been around. I, like many others, remember their debut record from 1989, ‘Funk – O – Metal Carpet Ride’ (still a great title). Unfortunately, by the time their second LP ‘Groovus Maximus’ was released in 1992, grunge had all but killed off bands like the Electric Boys. Since then I have heard the odd track here and there and caught them live at a few festivals. I was surprised to find that this latest LP is the bands seventh studio record. It features ten tracks of funk n roll, including the first single/video from the album Super God. The animated video is well worth a watch.

Instrumental opener ‘Upside Down’ Theme kicks off the album with swift boot to the nether regions. ‘Never Again Your Slave’ is another belting track with echoes of Zeppelin’s ‘Moby Dick’ in the main riff. ‘Globestrutter’ is another high point with some great lyrics sung with conviction by main man Conny Bloom – ‘Hard rock is in my DNA’, I must agree with that!


In ‘Twang Em – Kerrang Em’, the Electric Boys win the song title of the year hands down! It’s a great tune too with some great lead guitar work from Bloom. A fine record from an enduring band. It’s great to see the album is being released on all formats including four different coloured vinyl LPs. Go and get it!

Buy Here

Author: Kenny Kendrick