The City Kids are a band that deserves your attention. The band is made up of four rock’n’roll renegades with a penchant for creating down and out sleazy rock music.

They released their debut album two years ago and was one of this writer’s favorites of that year, with its Wildhearts meets Social Distortion groove but with their own unique sound thrown into the mix. 

So while we patiently await the next long-player the band has put together this EP for a celebration of their two-year anniversary. It consists of four tracks which are covers of Motorhead classics and features some very special guests indeed.

First up we have the band’s namesake “City Kids” and we are off to a fast start with ripping guitars and  JJ’s throat-shredding vocals and this kids, is how rock’n’roll is supposed to sound.

Next up we have the top tunage of “Bomber” and this time we are treated to vocals from guitarist Dennis and with a guest appearance on lead guitar by Jay Pepper of Tigertailz this is another belter of a track.

Following on we have that classic Headgirl tune “Please don’t touch” and this is a tasty duet between guitarist JJ and Ruyter Suys of Nashville pussy fame and is every bit as good as the head girl version which is high praise indeed.

Last but not least we have Born to raise hell and this beast of a song would indeed have the devil himself raising the horns in salute and with guests Eddie spaghetti and Frank meyer you really are in for some headbanging action.

All that’s left to say is this  that JJ – guitar/vocals, Dennis – guitar / vocals, Berty Burton/ bass and Dave Saunders / drums have not only done these classic songs justice they have added their own filthy sound into the mix to make this a must-buy for rock fans.

Tracklisting and Players1 – City Kids (JJ lead vocals) Guests: Frank Meyer (The Streetwalkin’ Cheetahs)- additional vocals

2 – Bomber (Dennis lead vocals) Guests: Ivan Tambac (Warrior Soul) – Drums Jay Pepper (Tigertailz) – Lead Guitars

3 – Please Don’t Touch (JJ lead vocals) Guests: Ruyter Suys (Nashville Pussy) – Lead Vocals Frank Meyer (The Streetwalkin’ Cheetahs) – Vocals, Piano:Andy Barrott (The Dukes Of Bordello/Chrome Molly) – Lead Guitars: Dave Kerr (Silverjet) – Lead Guitars

4 – Born To Raise Hell (Dennis lead vocals) Guests: Eddie Spaghetti (Supersuckers) – Lead Vocals Frank Meyer (The Streetwalkin’ Cheetahs) – Lead Vocals, Lead Guitar


Author: Gareth ‘Hotshot’ Hooper